Smile for the (Web) Camera: the Dean’s Achievement Scholars meet Sept. 14 with College of Education leaders.
Smile for the (Web) Camera: the Dean’s Achievement Scholars meet virtually Sept. 14 with NIU College of Education leaders.

Congratulations to these NIU College of Education students and faculty!

Eight College of Education students have been named Dean’s Achievement Scholars!

  • Dylan Banker, Kinesiology
  • Roger Bezares, Kinesiology
  • Hannah Clark, Elementary Education-Elementary Mathematics Education
  • Esperanza Correa, Elementary Education-Reading Teacher
  • Genesis Miranda, Special Education-Visual Impairments with P.E.L.
  • Julissa Rosario, Early Childhood Education
  • Maggie Trunkhill, Elementary Education-Elementary Mathematics Education
  • Cassandra Sanchez, Elementary Education-Bilingual ESL

Chosen for stellar academic performance in high school, each receives a $2,000 scholarship for the 2020-21 academic year with the possibility of renewal for the next year based on grade point average.

The group met Sept. 14 with Brittany Wereminski, coordinator of Recruitment, to discuss ways they can engage with the college this year.

Also joining the virtual get-together were Dean Laurie Elish-Piper; Associate Dean David Walker; department chairs Sally Blake, Todd Gilson and Laura Hedin; Jennifer Johnson, director of Teacher Preparation and Development and acting director of Student Services; and Payton Petruchuis, Student Services graduate assistant.

* * *

Todd Gilson
Todd Gilson

Todd Gilson, chair of the Department of Kinesiology and Physical Education, authored a chapter for “Military Psychology Response to Post Pandemic Reconstruction.”

Released in September by Rawat Publications, the book is intended to provoke thoughts on how military psychology can be applied in not just military contexts but also explore diversity or applications in different realms, when dealing with the pandemic in present times as well as during post-pandemic reconstruction.

Gilson’s chapter is “Building Confidence from the Ground Up: Sources and Strategies.”

* * *

Shaine Henert
Shaine Henert

Shaine Henert, associate professor and Kinesiology Program-Sport and Exercise Psychology director received the Association for Applied Sport Psychology (AASP) Sharing Knowledge Award.

Funded by the AASP Foundation, this award is given to support a member of AASP who seeks to share knowledge developed in theory, research and/or practice with another professional organization, such as the National Athletic Trainers’ Association, the American College of Sports Medicine or the American Counseling Association.

Henert recieves a plaque, a waiver of the next conference registration fee and a cash award.

* * *

Jenn Jacobs
Jenn Jacobs

Jenn Jacobs, assistant professor in the Department of Kinesiology and Physical Education, is the inaugural winner of the Young Alumni Award from the College of Applied Health Sciences at the University of Illinois of Urbana-Champaign.

The award recognizes a graduate who has achieved early success in their profession with leadership, community engagement and contributions of time and talent to the university as consideration. The recipient must be 35 or younger during the calendar year in which they receive the award.

Jacobs earned her UIUC bachelor’s degree in Kinesiology in 2009.

Do you have good news to share? Email us at!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email